Adjust text size

2017 Virginia Law Enforcement Challenge Winners Announced

September 19, 2017 | VACP

News Image Henrico County Division of Police recognized with "Commonwealth Award" for best overall traffic safety program in Virginia in 2016; Hanover County Sheriff's Office recognized with 2016 NSA Traffic Safety Unit Award.

The Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police (VACP) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Virginia Law Enforcement Challenge awards for the best traffic safety programs in the state in 2016. The awards luncheon took place during the VACP’s 92nd Annual Training Conference on Tuesday, September 19 in Virginia Beach, VA.

Celebrating its twenty-eighth year in Virginia, the Law Enforcement Challenge program promotes professionalism in traffic safety enforcement and encourages agencies to share best practices and programs with each other. The awards are based on entries prepared by the participating agencies that highlight their traffic safety education and enforcement activities in occupant protection, impaired driving and speed over the past calendar year. Judges award points to the agencies in the six areas that comprise a comprehensive traffic safety program: problem identification, policies, planning, training of officers, public information and education, enforcement, and an evaluation of the outcomes of the agency’s efforts.

The Virginia agencies listed below were presented with their first, second and third place state awards in each category at the awards luncheon, as well as special awards for outstanding enforcement and education efforts in the areas of occupant protection, impaired driving, speed awareness, commercial motor vehicle safety, distracted driving, technology, bicycle/pedestrian safety, and motorcycle safety.

Additionally, the VACP presented an award for the most outstanding traffic safety program in Virginia in 2016, regardless of agency size or type — the “Commonwealth Award”. This year, the Commonwealth Award goes to the Henrico County Division of Police.

Also presented at the Challenge Awards luncheon was an award from the National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA). The recipient of the 2016 NSA Traffic Safety Unit Award is the Hanover County Sheriff’s Office. Additional information about this award is available from the NSA at

The Virginia Law Enforcement Challenge Awards program is supported by a grant from the Virginia Highway Safety Office. Additional information about the Law Enforcement Challenge program can be found online at

Congratulations to all of the winners!

Word document | Adobe PDF


Municipal 1: 1-25 Officers Place Notes
Ashland Police Department 1  
Bedford Police Department 2  
Municipal 2: 26-60 Officers Place Notes
Herndon Police Department 1  
Culpeper Police Department 2 Special Award: Technology
Colonial Heights Police Department 3  
Municipal 3: 56-125 Officers Place Notes
James City County Police Department 1 Special Award: Occupant Protection
Harrisonburg Police Department 2 Special Awards:
Motorcycle Safety & Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety
Salem Police Department 3 Special Award: Bicycle & Pedestrian Safety
Municipal 4: 126-225 Officers Place Notes
Lynchburg Police Department 1  
Roanoke County Police Department 2  
Albemarle County Police Department 3  
Municipal 5: 226-425 Officers Place Notes
Roanoke Police Department 1  
Chesapeake Police Department 2  
Municipal 6: 426-800 Officers Place Notes
Henrico County Division of Police 1 Commonwealth Award Winner Special Award: Impaired Driving
Virginia Beach Police Department 2  
Municipal 7: 801+ Officers Place Notes
Fairfax County Police Department 1 Special Award: Traffic Incident Management
Sheriff 1: 1-50 Deputies Place Notes
Westmoreland County Sheriff's Office 1  
New Kent County Sheriff's Office 2  
Sheriff 2: 51-125 Deputies Place Notes
Gloucester County Sheriff's Office 1  
Washington County Sheriff's Office 2  
Montgomery County Sheriff's Office 3  
Sheriff 3: 126+ Deputies Place Notes
Stafford County Sheriff's Office 1 Special Award: Speed Awareness
Hanover County Sheriff's Office 2 National Sheriffs' Association 2016 Traffic Safety Unit Award
Fauquier County Sheriff's Office 3  
Special Enforcement Place Notes
Metro Washington Airports Authority Police Department 1 Special Award: Distracted Driving
University Police Place Notes
Virginia Commonwealth University Police Department 1  
University of Richmond Police Department 2