Adjust text size

Capitol Police Reaccredited by VLEPSC

May 10, 2018 | VACP

News Image The Virginia Division of Capitol Police was reaccredited Wednesday for another four years by the Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission (VLEPSC).

The panel, conducting a business meeting in Martinsville, based its reaccreditation decision on information gathered during a comprehensive field assessment at Capitol Police headquarters in Richmond in late March.

It marked the second consecutive successful reaccreditation for the Capitol Police, which was originally accredited in 2010.

“We put a great deal of effort into providing progressive law enforcement at the Division of Capitol Police, and it’s very gratifying to see that work recognized like this,” said Col. Anthony S. Pike, the chief of the 125-employee agency. “Not only are the standards set by VLEPSC difficult to reach, but they require a true commitment to improving and being professional. I’m very proud of our men and women. They are to be applauded.”

The commission, which is made up of representatives of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association, the Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police and the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services, establishes a significant list of professional standards designed to measure and evaluate agencies with the goal of overall improvement.

The Capitol Police reaccreditation drive was led by Rebecca B. Herrera, the division’s accreditation manager.

“She does an excellent job,” Pike said, “of keeping everyone focused on meeting the high standards of VLEPSC as well as letting us know what will keep us ahead of the curve.”

Also Wednesday, Pike was elected by VLEPSC to serve on its board as vice chairman for a two-year term beginning immediately.

Pike has been the chief since 2011 of the Capitol Police, which is celebrating its 400th anniversary, tracing its heritage back to the first permanent English settlement at Jamestown.

Photo Caption: Col. Anthony S. Pike, Virginia Capitol Police chief (center), is surrounded by (clockwise, from left) Capt. Raymond J. Goodloe III, Capt. Randall E. Howard, Lt. John T. McKee and Rebecca B. Herrera, the division’s accreditation manager.