Adjust text size

Nomination Period Open for 2016 IACP/Target Police Officer of the Year

June 14, 2016 | National News


Application Deadline: Friday, July 15, 2016

n 1966, PARADE magazine approached the IACP wanting to enhance the image of the police in the United States. Their idea – an Outstanding Policeman Award which would be awarded at the IACP’s Annual Conference.

Over the past 50 years, this award has changed in many ways – from its name to eligibility criteria to its geographic scope and eligibility criteria. But one thing has remained the same – its commitment to highlighting the outstanding and heroic achievements among police officers and the sacrifices made daily by law enforcement’s finest.

Sgt. Philip T. Dwyer
St Louis Police Department
Policeman of the Year 1966
Officer Scott T. Angulo
Tallahassee Police Department
Police Officer of the Year 2015

This year, we are celebrating 50 years of the Police Officer of the Year Award. From the first recipient - Sergeant Philip T. Dwyer of the St. Louis (Missouri) Police Department who’s Chief, Curtis Brostron said at the time “If you had a couple of thousand Phil Dwyer’s, you’d have quite a force,” – to last year’s recipient – Officer Scott Angulo of the Tallahassee (Florida) Police Department who was off-duty when he engaged and killed a suspect in his neighborhood who had set a house on fire in order to draw out and kill as many first responders – the men and women who have earned this award are just a few examples of the exceptional work law enforcement officers do around the country every day. 

Learn more about these heroes on our Police Officer of the Year Winners Page.

This year, the IACP is proud to partner with Target to recognize exemplary performance by police officers from across the United States.

Four finals will be chosen and each will receive:

  • All-expense paid trip to IACP 2016 in San Diego, California for nominee and 1 guest.
  • Recognition at the 10th Annual IACP Foundation Gala, where one finalists will receive the Police Officer of the Year Award.
  • Recognition of Police Officer of the Year at the First General Assembly.
  • Featured article in Police Chief Magazine.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • All sworn, full-time police officers below the rank of chief are eligible. 
  • Nominations may be made for exceptional achievement in any police endeavor, including but not limited to, extraordinary valor, crime prevention, investigative work, community relations, traffic safety, drug control and prevention, juvenile programs, and training efforts.
  • All nominations must be made by the Head of the Agency/Chief of Police.
  • Unfortunately, posthumous nominations are not eligible but officers injured in the line of duty are eligible.
  • One nomination per department.
  • Time frame for eligible events is July 16, 2015 through July 13, 2016.

Applications are accepted from across the United States and all nominations will be considered equally by an independent team of judges.

Click here for the 2016 Application

All nominations and supporting materials must be sent via email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) by midnight ET (U.S.) on Friday, July 15, 2016. For questions, please contact Diana Wisler Beckmann at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).


IACP/Target Police Officer of the Year - IACP 2015