Adjust text size

Senior assistant chief named for Norfolk Police Department

April 15, 2008 | Virginia News

Assistant Chief Sharon Chamberlin of the Norfolk Police Department will be promoted to senior assistant chief. Capt. Jayward Hanna will be promoted to assistant chief.

Chief Bruce P. Marquis is pleased to announce the advancement of eleven (11) Norfolk Police Department (NPD) members to positions of higher rank and responsibility within the department. First, Assistant Chief Sharon Chamberlin, a 33 year veteran of the NPD and most recently the Assistant Chief responsible for all investigative services, has been designated as the Senior Assistant Chief. This marks the first time a female has held the second highest position of authority in the department. During her career, Chief Chamberlin has held positions of ever increasing responsibility within the department including command of Training, the Second Patrol Division, and the Criminal Intelligence Unit. She has a Bachelor of Science degree, a Master of Public Administration degree and a PhD in Education. Her academic background and professional experience make her uniquely qualified to handle her new assignment. The promotion of Captain Jayward Hanna to the position of Assistant Chief is also notable in that it marks only the second time in the history of the department that an African American officer has held the position of Assistant Chief. A member of the NPD since 1978, Chief Hanna has most recently been in charge of the NPD’s First Patrol Division which generally serves the Southside and downtown areas of the city. His extensive experience in the patrol divisions will stand him in good stead for his new responsibilities as the Assistant Chief responsible for all the uniformed patrol services including over half of the department’s members. In addition to the two promotions at the NPD’s highest levels, Lieutenant Aaron Pomeranz was promoted to Captain and will assume responsibility for the Strategic Management Division and Sergeant Robert Pavese was promoted to Lieutenant and will be assigned in the NPD’s Third Patrol Division. Being promoted to Sergeant are: Corporal J. A. Diener and Officers C. S. Brinkley, D. N. Howard, E. Morris, R. J. Quick, T. L. Stott and G. C. Wall. The oath of office will be administered to these personnel at a swearing in ceremony to be held on April 15, 2008 at 6:30 P.M. in the Circuit Court Building at 100 St. Paul’s Blvd., Norfolk, VA.