Adjust text size

VACP Installs 2012-2013 Executive Board

August 19, 2012 | VACP

News Image Staunton Police Chief James E. Williams becomes 2012-2013 President;
Galax Police Chief Richard C. Clark, Jr. completes 2011-2012 term as VACP President

The Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police on August 14th installed the 2012-2013 VACP Executive Board during the Valor Awards Banquet of the association's annual conference in Roanoke, Virginia. The new board members are:

PRESIDENT – Chief James Williams, Staunton – Chief Williams has a master’s degree in Criminal Justice from Virginia Commonwealth University, and is a graduate of the FBI Academy and the Senior Management Institute for Police.  He represents the VACP on the Virginia Amber Alert Board, the Awards Committee and on the Law Enforcement Executives Advisory Committee of the Virginia Crime Prevention Association.  Since October, 2007, he has served as the Virginia representative to the State Associations of Chiefs of Police (SACOP) division of the International Association of Chiefs of Police.

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT – Chief Richard C. Clark, Jr., Galax – Chief Clark has a master’s degree in Criminal Justice, and has been chief of police since 2001.  He was appointed in 2010 to represent the VACP on the Virginia Criminal Justice Services Board, and serves on the DCJS Law Enforcement Command Advisory Group for Homeland Security and the DCJS Law Enforcement Subcommittee. Chief Clark is a graduate of the 13th session of the Virginia Forensic Science Academy.  His agency has been accredited by the Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission, and he led the City of Galax to certification as a Crime Prevention Community.

1ST VICE PRESIDENT – Chief Timothy Longo, Charlottesville – Chief Longo has a law degree from the University Of Baltimore School Of Law, and has completed the Senior Management Institute for Police sponsored by the Police Executive Research Forum.  He has experience in global strategic management consulting, and has served as project coordinator for the District of Columbia and the Metropolitan Police Department’s Communications Technology initiatives.  Chief Longo served with the Baltimore Police Department from 1981-2000, rising to the rank of Chief of Technical Services. He represents the VACP on the Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission.

2ND VICE PRESIDENT – Chief Gary Roche, Pulaski – Chief Roche has been Chief of Police in Pulaski since 2001, and has a Masters Degree in Administration of Justice. He is a graduate of the FBI Academy and the Professional Executive Leadership School. He has served as president of the Blue Ridge Association of Chiefs of Police, and currently serves on the Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission.

3RD VICE PRESIDENT – Chief David Sloggie, Williamsburg – Chief Sloggie has 35 years of experience with the Williamsburg Police Department, and holds a Bachelor’s of Arts Degree in Criminology from Saint Leo College and a Master’s in Justice Administration from Golden Gate University.  He is a 1989 graduate of the FBI National Academy, a 1992 graduate of the United States Secret Service Dignitary Protection School, and a 1996 graduate of the Police Executive Leadership School at the University of Richmond.

Colonel Thierry Dupuis, Chesterfield County
– Colonel Dupuis was appointed the chief of police for the Chesterfield County Police Department in 2007. Colonel Dupuis has served within all major divisions within the department. He is the 7th chief in the department's history and the first to have held all ranks within the department including officer, sergeant, lieutenant, captain, major and lieutenant colonel.  Colonel Dupuis holds an associate degree in applied science from John Tyler Community College, a Bachelor of Science degree from Virginia Commonwealth University and a master's degree in business administration from Averett College. (2010-2014 term)

Colonel David Rohrer, Fairfax County – Colonel Rohrer has been chief of the Fairfax County Police Department since 2004 and a member of the department since 1980. During his career, he has been recognized in numerous commendations and has earned a Meritorious Service Award, an Outstanding Performance Award and a Bronze Valor Award. He was appointed in 2010 to represent the VACP on the Virginia Criminal Justice Services Board. (2010-2014 term)

Chief Kelvin L. Wright, Chesapeake – Chief Wright was appointed the Chesapeake police chief in 2008, and has been a champion for change in the agency and for crime reduction in the community.  Chief Wright has a Bachelor’s of Science Degree, Cum Laude, in Sociology from Saint Leo University; a Master’s in Public Administration from Troy University and is pursuing a PhD in Public Administration and Urban Policy from Old Dominion University. He is active in developing leadership education programs for the Virginia Police Chiefs Foundation. (2011-2015 term)

Chief Douglas A. Goodman, Ashland – Chief Goodman was appointed Ashland police chief in 2008, where he has worked to enhance officer productivity and effectiveness.  Under his watch, his agency has increased number of Neighborhood Watch programs by 50% and reduced traffic accidents by 38% over a three-year period. Chief Goodman holds a Bachelor’s of Science Degree in Sociology from Virginia Tech and a Master’s in Public Administration from Virginia Commonwealth University, and serves on the Board of Directors for the Virginia Center for Policing Innovation. (2011-2015 term)

Chief Kimberley S. Crannis, Blacksburg – Crannis was appointed chief of police for the town of Blacksburg in October 2006 after serving in various capacities since 1984. Among her many professional affiliations, Crannis is an assessor for the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies. She serves on the board of the New River Valley Alcohol Safety Awareness Program, is a past president of the FBI National Associates of Virginia, and is a former board member of the New River Valley Women’s Resource Center. On June 20, the New River Valley Express Chapter of the American Business Women’s Association, presented Chief Kimberley S. Crannis with the 2012 Woman of the Year Award. (2012-2016 term)

The Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police is a statewide organization of federal, state and local police chiefs and law enforcement executives dedicated to improving the professionalism of police agencies in Virginia.  The Association was founded in 1926 and has more than 600 members.  The Association provides annual training programs for law enforcement executives, directs a statewide traffic safety program for law enforcement, produces Freedom of Information Act guidelines for law enforcement and lobbies for law enforcement interests at the state and federal level.  The Virginia Police Chiefs Foundation is a charitable educational foundation created by the VACP to provide training and education programs for law enforcement.


Photo Caption: Front (L to R) – Third VP Chief Dave Sloggie, Williamsburg; Immediate Past President Chief Rick Clark, Galax; President Chief Jim Williams, Staunton; First VP Chief Tim Longo, Charlottesville; and Second VP Chief Gary Roche, Pulaski. Back, L to R - Chief Kim Crannis, Blacksburg; Chief Doug Goodman, Ashland; Col. Thierry Dupuis, Chesterfield County; and Col. Dave Rohrer, Fairfax County.
(Not pictured: Chief Kelvin Wright, Chesapeake)

Photo Credit: Erin Schrad, VACP

High-resolution photos are available online at