Adjust text size

VACP Installs 2014-2015 Executive Board

September 9, 2014 | VACP

News Image Pulaski Police Chief Gary Roche becomes 2014-2015 President; Charlottesville Police Chief Timothy J. Longo, Sr., completes 2013-2014 term as VACP President

The Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police on September 9th installed the 2014-2015 VACP Executive Board during the Valor Awards Banquet of the association’s annual conference in Roanoke, Virginia.  The new board members are:

PRESIDENT – Chief Gary Roche, Pulaski – Chief Roche has been Chief of Police in Pulaski since 2001, and has a Master Degree in Administration of Justice. He is a graduate of the FBI Academy and the Professional Executive Leadership School. He has served as president of the Blue Ridge Association of Chiefs of Police, and currently serves on the Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission.

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT – Chief Timothy J. Longo, Sr. – Chief Timothy Longo has served as the Chief of Police in Charlottesville, Virginia since 2001. Prior to joining the Charlottesville Police Department, Chief Longo served 19 years with the City of Baltimore Police Department, where he rose to the rank of Colonel, serving as Chief of Technical Services. Chief Longo holds a Bachelor of Science from Towson State University, and a Juris Doctor from the University of Baltimore School of Law. He is also a graduate of the Senior Management Institute for Police, Police Executive Research Forum.  Chief Longo lectures across America in the fields of Ethics, Professional Standards, Internal Affairs and a variety of legal topics. He has served as adjunct faculty at Towson University and a guest lecturer at the University of Virginia schools of law and business.  Chief Longo has been the recipient of the Police Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, and the Webber Seavey Award.

1ST VICE PRESIDENT – Chief David C. Sloggie, Williamsburg – Chief Sloggie has 39 years of experience with the Williamsburg Police Department, and holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Criminology from Saint Leo College, a Master in Justice Administration from Golden Gate University and a Graduate Certificate in Local Government Management  from Virginia Tech. He is a 1985 graduate of the 140th class at the FBI National Academy, a 1992 graduate of the United States Secret Service Dignitary Protection School, and a 1996 graduate of the Police Executive Leadership School at the University of Richmond. Chief Sloggie chairs the VACP Awards Committee and has been a member of VACP for 31 years.

2ND VICE PRESIDENT – Colonel Thierry Dupuis, Chesterfield County – Colonel Dupuis was appointed the chief of police for the Chesterfield County Police Department in 2007. Colonel Dupuis has served within all major divisions within the department. He is the 7th chief in the department's history and the first to have held all ranks within the department including officer, sergeant, lieutenant, captain, major and lieutenant colonel.  Colonel Dupuis holds an associate degree in applied science from John Tyler Community College, a Bachelor of Science degree from Virginia Commonwealth University and a Master degree in business administration from Averett College. Chief DuPuis chairs the VACP Legislative Committee.

3RD VICE PRESIDENT – Chief Christopher S. Perkins, Roanoke City – Chief Perkins has served as Roanoke Chief of Police since 2010, and has been with the department since 1992.  He has a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Tennessee and a Master of Arts from Hollins University.  Chief Perkins is a graduate of the FBI National Academy, the Police Executive Research Forum, and has received numerous awards for his law enforcement training skills. 


Chief Kelvin L. Wright, Chesapeake – Chief Wright was appointed the Chesapeake police chief in 2008, and has been a champion for change in the agency and for crime reduction in the community.  Chief Wright has a Bachelor’s of Science Degree, Cum Laude, in Sociology from Saint Leo University; a Master in Public Administration from Troy University and is pursuing a PhD in Public Administration and Urban Policy from Old Dominion University. He is active in developing leadership education programs for the Virginia Police Chiefs Foundation. (2011-2015 term)

Chief Douglas A. Goodman, Ashland – Chief Goodman was appointed Ashland police chief in 2008, where he has worked to enhance officer productivity and effectiveness.  Under his watch, his agency has increased number of Neighborhood Watch programs by 50% and reduced traffic accidents by 38% over a three-year period. Chief Goodman holds a Bachelor’s of Science Degree in Sociology from Virginia Tech and a Master in Public Administration from Virginia Commonwealth University, and serves on the Board of Directors for the Virginia Center for Policing Innovation. (2011-2015 term)

Chief Stephen L. Sellers, Albemarle County - Chief Sellers was appointed Albemarle County Chief of Police in 2011, after serving from 1997-2011 in progressive positions with the Fairfax County Police Department and rising to the rank of Deputy Chief.  He has a Master Degree in Public Administration from Virginia Polytechnical Institute and State University, and a Bachelor of Arts in Business Management from National Louis University.  Chief Sellers graduated from the FBI National Academy in 2000, and is a member of the Virginia Highway Safety Committee.  (2013-2017 term)

Chief A. J. Panebianco, Middleburg – Chief Panebianco has been the police chief in Middleburg since April, 2012.  He previously served as Chief of Police in Louisa, Warsaw and Buena Vista.  Chief Panebianco has a Bachelor of Science in the Administration of Justice from Bluefield College, and is a graduate of the Professional Executive Leadership School at the University of Richmond.  He currently serves on the Awards Committee, Budget & Finance Committee member, and  Professional Image & Ethics Committee of the VACP. (2014-2018 term)

Chief DeWitt Cooper, Tazewell – Chief Cooper began his career working for the Hanover County Sheriff’s Office.  He next joined the Warsaw Police Department, where he was appointed Chief in 2002.  He was appointed Tazewell Police Chief in 2012.  Chief Cooper has attended the Virginia Police Chiefs Foundation New Chiefs School, and currently serves on the VACP Legislative Committee. (2014-2018 term)

The Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police is a statewide organization of federal, state and local police chiefs and law enforcement executives dedicated to improving the professionalism of police agencies in Virginia.  The Association was founded in 1926 and has more than 600 members.  The Association provides annual training programs for law enforcement executives, directs a statewide traffic safety program for law enforcement, produces Freedom of Information Act guidelines for law enforcement and lobbies for law enforcement interests at the state and federal level.  The Virginia Police Chiefs Foundation is a charitable educational foundation created by the VACP to provide training and education programs for law enforcement.


Photo Caption:
Front Row – Third VP Chief Chris Perkins (Roanoke); Immediate Past President Chief Tim Longo (Charlottesville); President Chief Gary Roche (Pulaski); First VP Chief Dave Sloggie (Williamsburg); Second VP Chief Thierry Dupuis (Chesterfield County).
Back Row – At-Large Executive Board Members Chief Doug Goodman (Ashland), Chief Steve Sellers (Albemarle County), Chief DeWitt Cooper (Tazewell).

Not pictured – Chief Kelvin Wright (Chesapeake) & Chief A.J. Panebianco (Middleburg).

Photo Credit: Erin Schrad, VACP

Contact: Ms. Dana Schrad, Executive Director – 804-338-9512 (mobile)