LTE Scholarship for PELS

“Lead from the Heart”

Lex T. Eckenrode Scholarship for PELS
Lex T. Eckenrode was the CEO of the Virginia Police Chiefs Foundation and retired Deputy Director of the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services.  Leading by example and providing inspiration and encouragement to those he came in contact with, Mr. Eckenrode built relationships that created an atmosphere in the Commonwealth of Virginia that allowed law enforcement leaders to flourish.

His message to the graduates of the Professional Executive Leadership School (PELS) was not about great leadership theories or applications, but more about how these individuals view themselves as leaders at home, at work, and in their community.  He asked each graduate to think about the legacy they will leave, not just in their professional career, but in everyday life.  He shared with the graduates that life is all about relationships.  If they cannot build relationships based upon what comes from their hearts, then they will not be very successful leaders.

With this message in mind, the graduates of the 24th Session of PELS created the Lex T. Eckenrode Scholarship for PELS.  This scholarship has been established to honor the legacy that Mr. Eckenrode created through his vision and his values and is to be awarded to individuals who portray the ability to acquire the leadership qualities that Mr. Eckenrode showed us all and inspired in those around him to create within themselves.

For more information on this scholarship, or for the scholarship application, please click here.

Past Scholarship Awardees

Lieutenant Gregory W. Deaver
Poquoson Police Department
PELS Session 42

Sergeant Michael Parmelee
Pulaski Police Department
PELS Session 41

Captain Charles F. Davis
Tappahannock Police Department
PELS Session 39

Major Gary M. Dillon
Warrenton Police Department
PELS Session 39

Assistant Chief David L. Bragg
VA Union University Police
PELS Session 38

Lieutenant Shannon W. Walker
Bedford Police Department
PELS Session 38

Lieutenant Lee S. Bailey
New Kent County Sheriff's Office
PELS Session 37

Sergeant Robert E. Cottrell
Richmond Airport Police Department
PELS Session 37

Chief James R. West
Kingsmill Police Department
PELS Session 35

Deputy Chief D. Wayne Petefish
Luray Police Department
PELS Session 33

Chief Jesse L. Shupe
Louisa Police Department
PELS Session 32

Lieutenant F. Todd Foreman
Bedford Police Department
PELS Session 31

Lieutenant Timothy W. Whitt
Franklin Police Department
PELS Session 28

Lieutenant Marcus A. Vaught
Vinton Police Department
PELS Session 27

First Sergeant Mark E. Riley
Lexington Police Department
PELS Session 27